Alan Monasch on tomorrow’s farewell to Red Devil Open Mic at Cafe Du Nord

My precious, irreplaceable (Red Devil) open mic community,

Our last (Red Devil) open mic is taking place tomorrow, Tuesday, Feb 26, at Cafe Du
Nord. I want you to come, I want you to be there.

In the last two and a half years KC Turner has gathered the most extraordinary
musicians and music lovers around him and his huge heart with this open mic as its
weekly meeting place, its weekly celebration. Since last Thursday I have heard in
detail about all the people who met each other on the line, all the people who
formed musical and human bonds, and it is difficult to contemplate what our musical
life would be like now had KC not birthed and nurtured the open mic and this
community. To say that I am sad about the loss is a gross understatement, and to say
that I value this community with which I have been so privileged to connect does not
even hint at how deep it goes for me, how deep I know it goes for so many of us.

457550_3671116698543_1066925467_o

Our community persists. Our connection to each other, our love, persists. Our love
for KC Turner (who is as good-looking as his audiences, by the way 🙂 ) persists and
is now even stronger. We will continue to support each other, to collaborate and to
play our music for and with each other, and I am looking forward eagerly to our
future!

466435_3726520643607_844923545_o

I want you to be at the Du Nord to share this particular precious connection one
more precious time. Even past all the seriousness, We. Had. Fun! Let us do it one
last time, before we do whatever wonderful thing is next, and let’s have it be the
blowout to end all blowouts! That, I think, is the best way to honor what KC has
accomplished and what we have all been and done together. And I think it’s the best
way to start the next phase of our journey together!

I love each and every one of us!

550629_3726503483178_1550607865_n

With all my heart,
Alan

Details on how to perform on Tuesday HERE.

-6

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Christinna Guzman

     /  February 25, 2013

    From the heart. Well said Alan! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

